Here are the carriers that have made announcements Thursday regarding the airspace over Ukraine following the crash of Flight MH17

Photo from BBC

Flight MH17 leaving Schiphol Airport, Amsterdam, on Thursday afternoon(Photo from BBC)

On 18th July 2014, Ukraine regulators said they would temporarily close more airspace to commercial traffic on Friday, citing security operations on the ground. Meantime, a number of Asian carriers said they would voluntarily avoid eastern Ukraine, where the plane went down. In recent weeks, some other airlines had already started avoiding the area, though many were flying as usual on Thursday.

In April, the Federal Aviation Adminstration (FAA) warned all U.S. air carriers against flying over the Crimea region, the southern peninsula annexed by Russia earlier this year. But that warning did not include the Donetsk region in the eastern part of Ukraine, where Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17 crashed Thursday.

According to the European Cockpit Association (ECA), which represents more than 38,000 European pilots, said the route flown by the crashed Malaysian aircraft was “the most common route for flights from Europe to South East Asia.”

Following the crash of Malaysia Airlines flight MH17, the Federal Aviation Adminstration (FAA) has released a Notice to Airman barring U.S. flight operations within the Simferopol and Dnepropetrovsk regions of Eastern Ukraine. According to the FAA statement, there are currently no U.S. flights scheduled to fly through eastern Ukraine. The prohibition will be reviewed again in October. Along with U.S. flight operations, other nations’ air carriers have also adjusted flight routes to avoid the region, says the BBC.

Selected flights over east Ukraine on the afternoon of 17 July

Location where Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17 crashed Thursday.

Many airlines have now announced that they will stop flying over conflict area in Ukraine.

Here are the carriers that have made announcements Thursday regarding the airspace over Ukraine following the crash of Flight MH17:

– Air France said it has decided to avoid the airspace of eastern Ukraine.

– German airline Lufthansa said it will avoid sending its planes through airspace in Ukraine’s east.

– Russian airliner Transaero said it will avoid Ukrainian airspace for all future flights.

– Turkish Airlines said its flights will avoid Ukrainian airspace after the crash.

– Russian airline Aeroflot said it will no longer fly over Ukraine territory.

– British Airways said its flights are not using Ukrainian airspace with the exception of once-a-day service between Heathrow and Kiev.

– Delta Airlines released a statement saying it is not routing flights through Ukrainian airspace.

– Emirates Airline returned a flight to Dubai and said it will suspend operations to Kiev.

– Air India said they would reroute flights after the crash.

– Singapore Airlines Ltd. said that immediately after the incident it began rerouting all flights to alternative flight paths that are away from the region.

– Taiwan’s Eva Airways Corp. is now sending its flights over Turkey instead of Ukraine.

– Thai Airways International PCL said it was redirecting all six of its routes between Bangkok and European cities.

– Korean Air Lines Co, which had been avoiding eastern Ukraine since March, is reviewing its risk-control measures on other routes as well. It will stop flying passenger jets next week on its Seoul-Tel Aviv route.

– Qantas Airways says it stopped flying over eastern Ukraine months ago, and its flights between Dubai and London now go 400 nautical miles south of the region.

source from